Town Democrats elect 36 delegates to state convention

Democrat logo

More than 160 Democrats in Arlington gathered in Town Hall for a caucus Saturday, Feb. 8, and elected 36 delegates and five alternates to the state party’s 2014 endorsing convention.

"There is a very large and enthusiastic group of Arlington Democrats that is determined to keep Democratic candidates in office," town committee Chair Aimee Coolidge said, "and will work hard to that end. It was quite exciting to see new folks in town step up and become so passionately engaged in this process."

Delegates to the convention will select candidates to compete for the Democratic nominations for statewide office. The convention will be held Saturday, June 14, at the DCU Center in Worcester.

The delegates are:

Carole Allen, Chris Barry-Smith, Wesley Beal, Richard Beinecke, Sidi Belkziz, Lynn Bishop, Dana Black, Joan Black, Marc Breslow, Michael J. Brown, Mark Burstein, Maureen Crewe, Mary Cummings, Joseph Curro, Douglass Davidoff, Susan Doctrow, Catherine Farrell, Sharon Grossman, Gwenyth Hooper, Vanessa Kerr-King, Colleen Kirby, Adele Kraus, Annie LaCourt, Richard McElroy, Pearl Morrison, Brian Rehrig, Paul Schlichtman, Carroll Edward Schwartz, Paulette Schwartz, Hannah Simon, Ann Smith, Susan Stamps, Edward Starr, Mark Streitfeld, Robert Tosi Jr. and Jonathan Wallach.

Alternates are Eugene Benson, Juliana Brazile, Leba Heigham, Garfield Morrison and Mona Zeftel.

In addition, Coolidge, along with state Committeewomen Patricia Deal, Deborah Sirotkin Butler and Heather Fowles, state Sen. Kenneth Donnelly and state Rep. Sean Garballey, will serve as ex-officio delegates.

The Arlington Democratic Town Committee organized the caucus. Arlington has one of the largest delegations of Democrats in the state.

To ensure a diverse convention, the state party will complement local delegations with delegates representing youth (ages 18 to 35), minority and disabled.  Those who meet the qualifications may apply to be add-on delegates in these categories.

Applications are available by download here or by contacting the Massachusetts Democratic Party at 617-939-0800.

Completed applications must be returned to the Democratic State Committee by March 28.

For more information about the Arlington Democratic Town Committee, visit

For more information about the State Committee, visit

This story was published Wednesday, Feb. 12, 2014.